Tags

, , , , ,

Friends (I liked it)

Friends (I liked it)

A time travel romance set in the United States during the days of westbound wagon trains, cowboys, Native Americans, and pioneers. The story begins in modern times as Jake Owens finds himself jailed for a crime he didn’t commit, until a stranger makes him an offer that would clear his name if he accepts. After accepting the deal, Jake wakes in an unfamiliar place that looks like a set from the old western movies, and he wonders what he got himself into.

Rachel Parker is young woman traveling with her family to Oregon in hopes of a better life who finds herself wary of the newly hired scout named, Jake Owens. He’s brash and too forward for her liking, but he seems to take an interest in her and she’s not sure how she feels about it.

The two characters were pretty interesting, and I liked Jake’s confident, direct attitude that Rachel found off-putting at times. But I couldn’t blame her. The women of her time wouldn’t be used to the modern male with their coarse language, forward moves, and casual manners.

Of course, Jake persists flirting with her until he wears down her feminine objections. Their relationship unfolds and collides with several points of, not only the typical sexual tension that makes a romance sizzle, but also conflicts with other characters. These subplots don’t take you off on tangents they are nicely woven into the storyline and flow well.

For a romance, it was fairly mild where bedroom scenes were concerned, which is one reason I gave it only three out of five stars. Sometimes I didn’t feel the chemistry between the two and other times Rachel and Jake heated up the pages. To me, Rachel felt a little flat as a character and I wasn’t sure if that was due to the way women of her time were portrayed, or the character herself. I also sometimes got annoyed with Rachel’s distrust of Jake, but she did redeem herself, however.

I’d say, if you like western themed stories, pioneer days, and moderately sexy bedroom scenes, you’ll love Ms. Henderson’s novel. It is a stand alone book even though it is part of a series, and I have to say, that is a huge plus. My three heart rating was due to personal preferences and not any error on the author’s part; it didn’t light a fire under my bed…but it’s a good book, worth the read. And it was FREE when I read it.

You can find it on Amazon.com by clicking on this link: Come Home to Me

If you read Come Home to Me, did you like it? Let me know what you thought!

