Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

They say use active verbs and forgo the passive forms. Rid your writing of adverbs and other superfluous words, such as: really, just, and very. Don’t tell your readers, but show them, for readers detest author intrusion. Remember to start each new chapter with the names of your characters, else the reader will feel lost. Avoid using too many adjectives, they bog down the reader and slow the story’s pace. Throw away prologues, readers don’t like them, anyways, instead, start with chapter one.

I could go on, but I won’t. Suffice it to say, there seems to be more rules than I can remember. And I wondered, do all these rules create a fast food quality to our writing? By seemingly standardizing the way most authors write, are we taking the color out of novels?

Can you share an author that you feel has a unique voice and why you feel her/his voice is original? I know of a few, but as I consider their style, I find they don’t seem to follow these rules, at least not wholeheartedly. What say you about the rules of fiction writing and an author’s special voice?

